Ever After Box, four months in

I subscribed to the Ever After Box in early January, having always been interested in the idea of subscription box, but in search of something that I would actually like every time.

Of course, if I had just googled “romance subscription box” I might have discovered it a little sooner. I might have even known it existed, but hadn’t decided to actually try it out until they announced their one-year anniversary box.

Because we all know what I really need is a regular source of books coming in every month.

But I tried out the first box, which included a couple books that I wouldn’t burn and some adorable little extras. There was a romance reading journal that I’d love to try out someday. Because I’m also good at maintaining journaling habits. (I’m not.)

photo of unboxed Ever After Happy Birthday Box
Image c/o Ever After Box

 

I still haven’t read any of those books, but I decided, hey I like it, I’ll just go ahead and get the three month subscription.

I skipped the March box, which was the shapeshifter box (and now I’m sort of regretting it because I have found a recent renewed interest in shifters), so in addition to the Happy Birthday box, I have also gotten the Fairy Tale box, the Librarians in Love box, and the Badass and Beautiful box, which I thought would involve more romances featuring superheroes, I’ll be honest.

But at least I got this cute little thing:

photo of Jess wearing a Wonder Woman bracelet
I might have put this on immediately after pulling it out of the box.

I like this box. I really do. Ever After Box, LLC is also run by women of color, which is another thing I really like about it. But the boxes don’t always reflect the company’s diversity, and three of the boxes have all included one book I currently own, with the fourth including one I’d already read.

But I really like this box and want to support my lady authors of color.

I guess I could just buy their books?

I have a while yet to continue being torn, until it really comes down to when I need to make a decision. The next box is one I was thinking of suspending anyway (Cowboys), so maybe I’ll do that and keep an eye out.

Meanwhile, stay tuned for an update on my reading life (and a million excuses for why I haven’t been writing as much!)

Leave a Reply

